Our Mission

Association of Fire Districts of the Capital Area works to further the interests and welfare of fire districts, fire protection districts and village fire departments in the counties served by the association. The association serves to educate, provide assistance and share information as well as experience with it’s members as well as actively support legislation favorable to the fire service and keep the public informed of our member’s needs.


  • President – Tom Rinaldi (Stillwater Fire District) tom@rinaldi1.com
  • 1st Vice-President – John Meehan (West Crescent Fire District) jmeehanafd@gmail.com
  • 2nd Vice-President  –   Artie Hunsinger (Clifton Park-Halfmoon Fire District #1) arttv19@gmail.com
  • Secretary-Treasurer – Tony Hill, tonyhill2619@gmail.com
  • Sergeant at Arms – Tom Wood (Northumberland Fire District)
  • Chaplain – Fred Richards (Harmony Corners Fire District)

Board of Directors

  • Les Bonesteel Burnt Hills Fire District Saratoga County
  • Tom Wood Northumberland Fire District Saratoga County
  • Joyce Petkus Greenfield Fire District Saratoga County
  • Ed Woehrle Niskayuna Fire District #1 Schenectady County
  • Mike Podolec West Glenville Fire District #6 Schenectady County

Serving Fire Districts in the Following Counties:

  • Albany
  • Schenectady
  • Rensselaer
  • Saratoga
  • Warren
  • Montgomery
  • Washington
  • Schenectady

Membership or Renewal Form
AFDCA Application 8-1-2022 r1

Current By-Laws of the Capital Area Association
AFDCA By Laws rev 0622